History of the NAACP!

Frank White Sr, (left) was the first President of the local Stafford, Virginia NAACP, founded in 1956. His oldest son, Frank White Jr (right) remains an active member of the Stafford NAACP branch to this day!

Founded on February 12, 1909, the NAACP is the nation’s oldest, largest and most widely recognized grassroots-based civil rights organization. Its more than half-million members and supporters throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, campaigning for equal opportunity and conducting voter mobilization.

Founding group

The NAACP was formed partly in response to the continuing horrific practice of lynching and the 1908 race riot in Springfield, the capital of Illinois and resting place of President Abraham Lincoln. Appalled at the violence that was committed against blacks, a group of white liberals that included Mary White Ovington and Oswald Garrison Villard, both the descendants of abolitionists, William English Walling and Dr. Henry Moscowitz issued a call for a meeting to discuss racial justice. Some 60 people, seven of whom were African American- including W. E. B. Du Bois, Ida B. Wells-Barnett (pictured here) -and Mary Church Terrell, signed the call, which was released on the centennial of Lincoln’s birth.



The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.


The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.

NAACP Objectives

The following statement of objectives is found on the first page of the NAACP Constitution – the principal objectives of the Association shall be:

To ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of all citizens
To achieve equality of rights and eliminate race prejudice among the citizens of the United States
To remove all barriers of racial discrimination through democratic processes
To seek enactment and enforcement of federal, state, and local laws securing civil rights
To inform the public of the adverse effects of racial discrimination and to seek its elimination
To educate persons as to their constitutional rights and to take all lawful action to secure the exercise thereof, and to take any other lawful action in furtherance of these objectives, consistent with the NAACP’s Articles of Incorporation and this Constitution.

Presidents of the


CURRENT-Yolanda Roussell

2019 – 2020

Joshua Cole

2018 – 2019:

Millisa Gary (Acting)

2015 – 2018:

Trimetria Singleton

2011 – 2015:

Aston Haughton

2008 – 2010:

Michael Lovitt

2000 – 2004:

Terry Payne

1987 – 1999:

Elnora Pondexter

1986 – 1987:

Zelda Vines

1972 – 1985:

Lillie Mae Walker

1956 – 1971:

Frank White, Sr.

Scroll to Top